Catching Hope

Looking for the grace of God that surrounds us

Celebrate

on February 23, 2013

I was thinking.

It’s been forever since I posted.

Life has been a little rough lately.  OK (insert honesty) more than a little rough.  I have written a few posts, just haven’t “pressed” them yet.  I was looking through them and realized how most of them are emotional, raw, dealing-with-life’s-difficulties type thoughts.

But, they are not being posted right now. Not because there’s anything wrong with them, in fact someday I may put them up.  But today is not the day for them.  Today is a day to get up and dance.

I’m not trying to ignore sadness and suffering in life.  Life can look very dark at times, for all believers. Sometimes it may seem like the Lord is too far away.  Those are times to pray for grace, hold your head up, grit your teeth, and fight for hope–for one more minute…one more hour…one more day.

But then, even in the midst of that difficulty, sometimes it is important to take a step back and take a look at the big picture. Look at the grace that is given.  I know, sometimes merely breathing takes a huge amount of effort.  But it’s still breathing.  And if we sat down and took stock, we could find blessings amid the pain.

No, I am not saying that focusing on the blessings will solve the problems.  Most of the time, it won’t.  And I know, oh how I know, it’s not that simple.  But occasionally it helps.

In the mean time, I am taking today to step back, set aside the worries and the difficulties, and to simply enjoy being alive.  God has given me grace to fight for another day. Hey, I woke up this morning! I breathed in and breathed out all night long without even having to think about it. I have a family that loves me. I have a God who fights for me. I even have coffee from the Dominican Republic to start my day. Wonderful.

Today I am choosing to set aside the sadness. It’s still there. It will still be there tomorrow.  Probably the next day, too.  But today, this day, I choose to put the sadness to rest, however temporarily, and dance.

After all, when you think about it, there is much to celebrate.

“Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him. Oh, fear the Lord, you His saints, for those who fear Him have no lack.”

(Psalm 34:8-9)

*(post partially inspired by: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-gQLqv9f4o)

Leave a Reply

