Catching Hope

Looking for the grace of God that surrounds us

The stuff of life

on June 24, 2010

It has been interesting for me to note lately how much of life truly is mundane.

I was recently watching “You’ve Got Mail” with Meg Ryan…she lives in the perfect apartment, her hair is always nicely done (even when she’s got a “horrible cold”), the color palate of her clothes go beautifully with her skin tones at all times, and even her “mundane” is made interesting to us, her viewers.

In contrast, my house is too often cluttered.  My hair is rarely perfectly done (despite my best efforts!).  My clothing, while I do make a good effort to look nice when leaving the house, certainly would not come close to measuring up in an episode of “What Not to Wear”.

And my mundane, whatever way you look at it, certainly is not interesting.  I brush my teeth, do my laundry, answer e-mail, go to work, put gas in my car, make my bed (ok, let’s be honest here, sometimes make my bed) :), take out the trash, weed the garden, pick up groceries, go through mail, pay bills, talk on the phone…pretty much like anyone else does, I suppose.  I can tell you right now that no one would ever want to put it all in a movie.

And yet, I have also been learning lately, that although the mundane makes up the majority of life, the fact that so much IS mundane is what makes the interesting things so interesting.  It gives joy and excitement to what should be joyful and exciting.  Otherwise, we’d have nothing to compare it to.

And of course, I can’t help but think….

He that is faithful in little, is faithful also in much.

Leave a Reply

