Catching Hope

Looking for the grace of God that surrounds us

Tears of My Own

on April 18, 2010

I often find myself catching other people’s tears.

I catch the tears of mommies and daddies, as they cry for their children.  They cry for the pain that they carry every day as they battle….whether it is a temporary, transient illness–or something that is slowly killing their babies.  I try to walk with them, to hold them, to ease them through…whether it’s through their newborn’s sleepless first night at home or through their teenage daughter’s leukemia.  And as much as I can, I catch and hold their tears for them.

I hold the tears of their babies…sometimes while I fight to force a tiny needle into their tiny leg muscles.  Sometimes I pass a tissue to catch the tears as they adjust to the pain of a chronic illness.   Sometimes I don’t see their tears, but I can feel them in the air, heavy and unspoken.

I catch their tears.  Sometimes literally in my hand.  Other times in my heart. It is a gift, a very precious and unique gift, to be able to do this.

But sometimes, just sometimes, as I bottle up everyone else’s tears and tuck them away in my heart for safekeeping, I find (as the country song goes), that I’ve got some tears of my own.

And then I find an even greater gift–when Jesus takes my tears and tucks them away in to His heart.  He is the perfect tear-keeper.

“You have kept count of my tossings; put my tears in a bottle.  Are they not in Your book?” (Psalm 56:8)

5 responses to “Tears of My Own

  1. Patty Burchett says:

    Thank you for this posting. It brought focus back to my job as a mom caring for my daughter with williams syndrome as I was crying last night because she wouldn’t stop crying… Christ is my perfect Comforter. I’ve enjoyed your blog as it was linked from another one a couple of months ago. I know many parents are blessed to have you caring for their children.

    • kristilynne84 says:

      Thank you for your comment, Patty…I am so thankful that the post was an encouragement to you. The kinds of challenges that you and your daughter are facing can be so very tough to deal with….but I, too, am blessed by the fact that Jesus does not just watch us as we suffer and fight, he walks with us. I just said a prayer for you and for your daughter–many blessings to you both!

  2. Thanks for the profound truth that Jesus carries our sorrows, and the reminder to be tear catchers for others. May God give you strength, wisdom, and love as you continue to care for those who suffer. May you be light in the darkness and comfort in suffering.

  3. Amy Steward says:

    Thanks for this, Kristi–a very profound truth to be remembered. May the tears that you catch make you ever-aware of the Great Tear-Catcher and of His love for you, His dear one.

  4. Kathi Westlund says:

    Oh Kristi! YOU are who I’d want taking care of one of my children (or me!) in a medical situation. May God give you strength to minister His care — and may you NEVER grow calloused to the pain of those in your care. Even if it makes you cry.

Leave a Reply

