Catching Hope

Looking for the grace of God that surrounds us

They Can Cry

on April 10, 2010

I was struck today as I was doing some charting–I have a couple of patients that have severe brain damage and are minimally responsive. On rare occasions, they can manage a smile–which is more than many families can say about their children.

But what struck me was how easily and readily they can cry, in comparison to when they smile.  They cry when they hurt, when they have an unmet need, when they just don’t feel good–and, I suspect, when they feel trapped by the bodies they are in.

It reminds me of the image of God in them, when their raw emotions are showing through. It gives me joy when, with great effort, they smile…and saddens my heart that their tears seem to come so much more easily than anything else.

My heart longs for the day when there will be no more tears…and the day that, by grace, these two precious children and the thousands like them will have new bodies and faces that smile, freely and easily, as they rejoice in the arms of Jesus.

One response to “They Can Cry

  1. Gracie says:

    Just wanted to tell you once again how much I appreciate your continued proclamation that every person is made in the image of God.
    We praise you Father for this truth, and for our sure hope of that coming day when all of us will be made whole – for your glory, eternally singing your praises with nothing hampering us!

    A Canadian reader

Leave a Reply

