Catching Hope

Looking for the grace of God that surrounds us

Dumb Things Nurses Say, version 1

on November 2, 2009

This time, it was a pre-teen girl with cancer.

I went to the house, gave her her medicine, and then as she pulled out and put on her bright green fake vampire teeth and bright orange pumpkin wig (complete with pumpkin stem!) she wanted to know if I’d play Tic Tac Toe with her on her new Halloween-themed tic tac toe board.  (She was the pumpkins, I was the ghosts).  I lost.  Not even on purpose.  She thought that was just great.

Then I went to leave.  She begged me to stay, begged me to call and visit her, giggling the whole time.

In jest, and totally in response to her complete, put-on overreaction to my leaving, I said, “Are you going to live?”

Like a bucket of ice water, mid-sentence I realized what I was saying and quickly followed that with “live…..uh, through my leaving?!”

As she dramatically replied, “No!!!!!” and cast herself, Ophelia-like, on the couch in fake death, I had to laugh at least a little……and then proceed to kick myself for the rest of the night over saying something so dumb to a kid with cancer.  She didn’t seem to mind so much, though–and I was glad that at least for one fleeting moment she was able to be just a kid.

Leave a Reply

