Catching Hope

Looking for the grace of God that surrounds us

The Small Stuff

on July 14, 2009

There is much joy to be found in the little, seemingly unimportant thoughts, happenings, and conversations in life.  There is also significance in them–if you know how to look.

Granted, not everything that happens will have a great impact.  Whether or not my dryer eats my socks or not (it does) is not going to cause anyone great spiritual renewal or philosophical awakening.

But the point is, the Lord’s hand is in everything.  Absolutely everything, even (amazingly enough) the 17 million lost socks in the cavernous unknown reaches of my dryer.  Often these sorts of things annoy us (causing our sanctification), amuse us (bringing us joy), or lead us to ponder something or see something in a brand-new way.  Then again, some things happen and some thoughts cross our minds for no apparent purpose at all.  But it is indeed a gift that the Lord does indeed have a purpose for everything and He ordains every step of our way–we should marvel with the Psalmist and say, “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, it is high, I cannot attain it.”

And this is the point of this blog.  I am not promising to write anything that you care to read, nor do I guarantee that every post will bring you a significant amount of encouragement.  I hope it does, however, at least sometimes.  I hope that we can, together, rejoice in the Lord’s gift of the mundane (and occasionally, perhaps, the not-so-mundane).

As a matter of fact, this blog has been created at the urging of a few of my friends to take some status updates and expand on them.  We’ll see how this experiment goes…

In the meantime, let’s all try to look for what the Lord is saying to us or teaching us in the small things in life.  And if you happen to have  figured out WHERE all those socks in your dryer go, please comment.

O Lord, you have searched me and known me!

You know when I sit down and when I rise up, you discern my thoughts from afar.  You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.  Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.  You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.

-Psalm 139:1-6

Leave a Reply

